Special Session on Computational Intelligence and Games

IEEE CEC, Cancun, Mexico, 20-23 June 2013

Games are an ideal domain to study computational intelligence methods in that they provide cheap, competitive, dynamic, reproducible environments suitable for testing new search algorithms, pattern-based evaluation methods, or learning concepts. They are also interesting to observe, fun to play, and very attractive to students. Additionally, there is a great potential for CI methods to improve the design and development of both computer games and non-digital games such as board games.
This special session aims at getting together leading researchers and practitioners in this field who study and apply computational intelligence methods to computer games.

Topics of interest include (but are not restricted to):

Paper Submission

Submissions should follow the guidance given on the IEEE CEC 2013 conference website.
When submitting, please remember to select as the main research topic the Special Session on “Computational Intelligence and Games”.

All submissions will be peer-reviewed with the same criteria used for other contributed papers. All accepted papers will be included and published in the conference proceedings.

Important Dates

Paper Submission: March 15, 2013
Notification of Acceptance: April 22, 2013
Camera-Ready Submission: May 6, 2013

Session Programme

Coming soon

Poster Sessions

Coming soon

Programme Commitee (to be confirmed)

Mike Preuss
Philip Hingston
Julian Togelius
Phillipa Avery
Alexandros Agapitos
Daniel Ashlock
Sander Bakkes
Clare Bates Congdon
Nicola Beume
Rafael Bidarra
Cameron Browne
Bobby D. Bryant
Paolo Burelli
Michael Buro
Sung-Bae Cho
Peter Cowling
Mirjam Palosaari Eladhari
Antonio J. Fernández Leiva

Garrison Greenwood
Johan Hagelbäck
Stefan Johansson
Pier Luca Lanzi
Daniele Loiacono
Sushil Louis
Simon M. Lucas
Tobias Mahlmann
Juan J. Merelo
Risto Miikkulainen
Tomoharu Nakashima
Tom Schaul
Noor Shaker
Gillian Smith
Kenneth O. Stanley
Kay Chen Tan
Ivan Tanev
Georgios N. Yannakakis

Special Session Chairs

Philip Hingston Mike Preuss